Gilas Pilipinas is SEA Games 2017 Men’s Basketball Champions!

Image from ABS-CBN

Gilas Pilipinas remained spotless after they reigned supreme over Indonesia in a 94-55 finals showdown in 2017 SEA Games held at MABA Stadium, Malaysia. This is the Philippines’ 18th gold medal in the SEAGames 2017, who has never lost a game since 1997. It is also the country’s 18th gold in men’s basketball.


Kiefer Ravena scored seven points in the finals game. The young Gilas cadet had broken Rommel Aducul’s 16-year record by winning his fourth SEA Games gold this year, while Bobby Ray Parks, Jr. and Kevin Ferrer had their third and Troy Rosario, Baser Amer, Almond Vosotros got their second. Kobe Paras, Raymar Jose, Von Pessumal, Mike Tolomia, Carl Cruz and Christian Standhardinger completed the roster of this year’s batch.


The Philippine team became very dominant at the start of the game, but fell one point from Indonesia in the middle of the first quarter. However, they never turned back since then as Tolomia fired hot treys in the first half. He lead the attack with 20 points, 11 coming from second quarter. He shot five triples the entire game.

19-year-old Kobe Paras gave some entertainment in the melee, with 14 points and a 100% shooting from the floor. Paras also did two slammies that drew wows from the crowd.


Gilas Pilipinas response to Indonesia’s pressing defense was at its peak. The team erupted for 26 second quarter points that widened the gap between the two teams, 45-27 in the first half. The Gilas team lead as much as 39, 94-55 after Ravena’s shot sealing the deal with a stepback triple with 1:35 left in the game.

Newly-minted PBA D-League MVP Raymar Jose scored 12 points while Standhardinger got 11.  Gilas shot 46 percent from the floor, and their ball movement stood out as they racked up 24 assists.

The Scores:

Gilas Pilipinas (94) – Tolomia 20, Paras 14, Jose 12, Standhardinger 11, Rosario 8, Ravena 7, Cruz 6, Ferrer 5, Pessumal 5, Amer 4, Parks, Jr. 2, Vosotros 0.

Indonesia (55) – Pratama 10, Kurniawan 10, Wisnu 6, Enguio 5, Sitepu 4, Dhyaksa 4, Nugroho 4, Kosasih 4, Wuysang 2, Grahita 2, Sitorus 2, Lakudu 2.

Quarterscores: 19-15, 45-27, 67-38, 94-55.



Be the first to comment on "Gilas Pilipinas is SEA Games 2017 Men’s Basketball Champions!"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.